top of page

mommy insecurities and a fuzzy bear diy

I really do love Thursdays. Since I work Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, Thursdays are always a welcome break. Tuesdays too, but Thursdays are so much closer to Saturdays when I get to spend the weekend with my Jimi. Follow me on all that? Sorry....

This week has been good, but tough too. I've been learning a lot about myself and wrestling with some mommy insecurities. I was feeling really down earlier this week because of something someone said to me. I felt like a terrible mom and I really let it get to me. At first I was hurt and upset, but I've been realizing that the enemy LOVES to use the words of other people to poke at my weak spots. I wanted to be mad and unforgiving and I just poured it all out to God.

Then, on Tuesday night (love Tuesdays!) I went to Community Group and a dear friend talked about something that she had learned. She read from Psalm 62. David is talking about how God is his fortress and strong hold. My friend pointed out that when we run to a fortress, the goal isn't to take the battle with us. It is to leave the battle and flee from it, to find safety and respite. She said that when we pray, it is so important to let the battle fade away for a moment and to dwell in that fortress and let God's truth wash over us. So often I want to just live in the battle and talk to God (Ok, honestly, I'm talking to myself and trying to convince myself that I'm "right"...even though I'm often wrong). I need to listen to God and let the truth of his Word wash over me and bring me peace. There is a time to pour out my heart, but I need to remember to take the time to be poured into with grace and truth. So thankful for my friend and her wisdom.

I've been trying to do this- to put aside the battle and be still before the Lord. This has helped me to realize both how dearly loved I am...and how much God wants to refine me. I've been realizing how manipulative I can be and how much I desire to be "right." Ouch. I'm sure thankful that God didn't wait until I was perfect to love me. :)

In other news, I made this fantastic little bear hood for my Lizzy this week! It looks far more complicated than it is. The tutorial from Lemon Squeezy is super easy to follow and the pattern is free! There are sizes from baby to older kids. I just need to find a button for Lizzy's so it will stay on.

Seriously. That face. Can it get any sweeter? She is my happy.

IMG_3607.JPG

bottom of page