top of page

We get what we expect

I wanted to share something that I read yesterday that has been on my heart all day today. I have this great app on my phone, it's a morning and evening devotional from Charles Spurgeon, and last night I was reading from it.

Spurgeon writes, "To a great extent in spiritual things we get what we expect of the Lord. Faith alone can bring us to see Jesus." This kind of rocked my soul.

Why do I expect so little from my Lord when he can do and has done so, so very much? The cry of my heart is like the father of the dying child in the Bible, "I believe, help my unbelief!" I want to be a woman of great faith, not someone who just squeaks by.

I desire to trust the Lord in all things, big and small. As a new momma, I have a new, very, very big thing to trust the Lord with. My daughter. He formed her, he knows her, he adores her, and yet it can be hard to trust him with my baby. Although, sometimes, in the sweet moments, trusting the Lord comes very naturally. I can rest in my Father's arms because my arms just can't hold it all. Oh my savior is great indeed.

photo 1_edited.JPG

This picture is one of my very favorites from just after Lizzy was born. I couldn't and still can't come up with the words to describe the way my heart almost bursts when I look at it.

bottom of page