top of page

Starting at the beginning..

What should I be doing right now? Cleaning the bathroom. What I am doing? Delaying cleaning the bathroom as long as possible, but still planning to do it while baby girl is sleeping. Probably. Maybe. Yes...probably.

Instead, I'm thinking about how I met my husband, the lover of my heart, and the father of my sweet baby girl. It's a kind of ridiculous story, but you should expect nothing less from us!

IMG_2814.JPG

This is my Jimi and me the summer we met. Check out his hair! Those arms! Swoon.

This is the short version: We met working at a church camp in southern Texas, Camp Eagle, started dating officially the day camp ended, and got married almost exactly one year later. If you'd like the longer, more theatrical version, keep reading!

I was going to college at Truman State University in northern Missouri. I had no reason to go to southern Texas for the summer. In fact, I really had no desire to work at a camp at all. I didn't think I was cut out for such tom-foolery. :) Buuut, the fella I was dating at the time was planning to work there...so I applied and got a job. Then we broke up on the 12+ hour car ride to Texas. (Yes. Timing was very unfortunate.) He was a fantastic guy who loved the Lord and would have been a great husband, he just wasn't meant to be mine.

We finally got to camp, got off the awkard bus (out of the car), and attempted to figure out what was next. I swore off boys for the summer right then and there. (Yeah, that worked out great). I decided to make the most of the summer and enjoy the craziness of Camp Eagle. It's a fantastic out door adventure camp, full of mountain biking (not my fav.) hiking (yes please) and climbing (what???) I really wanted to learn to climb, and it just turned out that the lead ropes guy...was my future husband. I never dreamed I would be cool enough to get his attention, but for some reason, Florida boy noticed me.

We started going on adventures together, including a very treacherous date on a zip line (that's a whoooole different story), and I was head over heels. I didn't know what to do. I really kind of thought that when we left camp, he'd go back to University of Florida, I'd go back to Truman, and he'd forget about me. (I mean,he had only just figured out where Iowa was, so I wasn't sure how good my chances were. True story! Guess they don't teach geography in Florida...). But he didn't forget about me. That boy called me every single day. He never missed one. And then the following March, he proposed. And well, obviously, I said YES.

And baby girl is awake. Sorry bathroom. Next time!

bottom of page